Round 1 Apps done!

Standard

It’s been a while since I’ve last blogged. I spent the last month wrapping up my remaining Round 1 applications. Now with my R1 applications done, I’d like to share some newfound perspectives I’ve gained on these applications:

1. The two most fun essays I’ve had to write so far have been Duke’s “25 random things about myself” and Cornell’s “Write the story of your life as a series of chapter titles”. It’s refreshing to write essays that force you to be a little creative, and I;m glad that Cornell and Duke have adopted this approach unlike some of the other traditional B-school apps.

2. I visited all the schools that I have applied to so far (with the exception of Cornell). I was lucky that I had a lot of air miles accumulated from my frequent work travels (I love Southwest!). Immersing myself in a school’s culture while on campus allowed me to determine if that was a place that I wanted to spend the next 2 years of my life at. It also allows you to observe the life of a student at school, and ask them any questions you may have about their experiences at that school. I found that almost all students are happy to talk about not only their experience at school X, but also provide their advice on how they went about choosing schools etc. The common theme that I heard was that getting into B-school is the hard part, once you’re in, its a little easier. I, for one, am very excited to hear that.

3. Reach out to students that are presidents etc of any student interest clubs that you’re interested in. I am looking to transition from engineering/construction to real estate development, and I found that I learnt a lot from talking to members of the Real Estate clubs of the schools that I’m targeting.

Leave a Reply

